Vignobles Jérôme Bézios

Vignobles Jérôme Bézios, AOP Gaillac




Jérôme Bézios took over the family estate 20 years ago.


Since then, he has invested heavily in new technologies (temperature controls, filtration, etc.), in traditional practices (manual harvesting, tillage, etc.) and in a competent team in order to strive for optimum quality both at the level of production than winemaking. He is now at the head of two estates, the Domaine de la Croix des Marchands, where various wines are produced, including sparkling according to the ancestral method, and the Château Palvié, where are produced exclusively still wines more guard-oriented. Both estates are in the Gaïllac appellation.


Let us return to the Bubbles. The Domaine de la Croix des Marchands extends its vines over 30 hectares of gravelly terroir. They produce wines typical of the appellation, fruity and spicy. Their historic location attests to the presence of a two-thousand-year-old wine industry!


The excellent reputation of this estate makes it a benchmark of the Gaillac appellation.The Bézios vineyards have been HVE (level 3) and Terra Vitis labeled for more than 10 years, which today perfectly meets the expectations of quality and respect for the terroirs. and the environment.


 


History of the estates, the winegrowers

Located in the heart of the Gaillac vineyards, and more particularly in Montans, a large pottery center from the Gallo-Roman period, the Croix des Marchands estate has its roots in its location. A former crossroads of potters, it attests to the presence of a two-thousand-year-old wine-growing activity. Predestined for the vine, our vineyard is family-owned and has been passed down from father to son for several generations. Independent winegrowers attached to our terroir and to our grape varieties from the Gaillac vineyard, we produce, vinify, condition and distribute our Gaillac wines with a purely qualitative vision.


It was in the 1930s that the first vines sprouted up in Montans, just next to Gaillac.


At the time they were not alone, we did mixed farming, breeding and Gaillac wines. When Jean-Marie Bezios takes over, admiring the pioneer winegrowers of our Gaillac vineyard, he decides to devote himself solely to the vine. This step marks the beginnings of the "Domaine la Croix des Marchands" in the 1970s. Years of work and care followed to produce our first vintage in 1983 in traditional red.


Years later, in 1998, Jérôme joined the team after completing his studies in wine. In 1999 the estate grew. From the beginnings of Château Palvié, which completes our range of Gaillac wines.


These Cahuzac sur Vère vines then offered the possibility of expanding the vintages and Jérôme seized this opportunity. In 1999, the first cuvée was born. Today the two estates are grouped together under the same name: "Les vignobles Jérôme Bezios", and we are fortunate to be able to work two terroirs of the Gaillac appellation to offer you a richer and more complete discovery of the wines of the AOP Gaillac.


With a reception area near Gaillac for the purchase and tasting of our wines, we can show you around the cellar and our estate by appointment (minimum 10 people) throughout the year.


One vineyard, two terroirs

Few are aware of this, and yet the Gaillac vineyard is one of the oldest vineyards in France. Of lesser renown than are vineyards such as Bordeaux or Burgundy, our estates and our Gaillac vines nonetheless have an identity marked by centuries of wine culture.


With a total area of ​​6,800 hectares, the Gaillac vineyard has many independent wineries and winegrowers, including 3,150 hectares in Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) Gaillac. All of our vines are worked in AOP Gaillac and we have been producing all of our wines according to these specifications since our beginnings.


The Gaillac vineyard is divided and divided into three main terroirs. We are now fortunate to use vines from 2 of these main terroirs.


First of all, Domaine la Croix des Marchands, which is made up of around thirty hectares in a gravel terroir. This first soil, called terraces of the left bank of the Tarn, is essentially gravelly.


These vines, located in Montans, all around our reception and tasting area, marked the beginnings of the estate and allow us to produce fruity and spicy wines. Conducted in Guyot, they are worked every day by our entire team and provide us with fruit to produce a range of white, red, rosé, sweet wines and ancestral methods. The average age of these vines is 30 years and the harvest is mechanical and manual.


On the other side of the Tarn is the right bank and its hillsx. Here we find the clay-limestone terroir of Château Palvié and its older vines, allowing us to offer richer and more powerful wines. Thanks to the twenty hectares of "goblet" vines that we have, we can offer a range of more concentrated wines that are more suitable for aging. In Cahuzac sur Vère you will only find the vines. At harvest time, we harvest all of the Château Palvié grapes and transport them carefully to the fermentation, vinification and aging cellar located at the Croix des Marchands estate in Montans. Once in the cellar, the harvest is worked in a very distinct way, on the one hand that from the vines of Château Palvié and on the other hand from the vines of the Croix des Marchands estate.


For more than 25 years, we have been working to offer 100% AOP Gaillac wines, mainly made from the old grape varieties of the appellation. We also do our utmost to produce wines from a "living and natural" vineyard. This desire is reflected in our Terra Vitis label and, more recently, our Level 3 High Environmental Value certification.


A lasting commitment to offer you quality. A line of conduct that has always been dear to us and is materialized today by our “Terra Vitis” and “high Environmental Value” (HVE level 3) labels and certifications. Since 2010, we have been fully or openly committed to sustainable development.


Terra Vitis


"Cultivate the vines with passion and reason while respecting the Living Earth for the pleasure and health of all". Since 2010, we have been committed to sustainable development. The attribution of the “Terra Vitis” label attests that we are working for sustainable viticulture, to return to a “more natural” and “living” vineyard, in accordance with biodiversity and offering the guarantee of healthy, authentic and quality products. reflecting the characteristics of the Gaillac terroirs that we work on.


Quality certified "High Environmental Value"


The process certified High Environmental Value is a statement managed by the Ministry of Agriculture and Food. the HVE is based on environmental performance indicators which cover the entire operation and its management. Obtaining HVE certification corresponds to compliance with performance indicators in four areas:


Biodiversity;

Fertilization;

Phytosanitary strategy;

Water Management.

The interest of this mention is to promote a type of agriculture that is particularly respectful of the environment and to allow producers to better promote their product. Unlike the Organic Agriculture certification, which is a "product" approach, the HVE is a "system" approach.


Since 2018, the estate has been officially certified "High Environmental Value" level 3. Of the 6,800 total hectares of the Gaillac vineyard, there are currently 450 hectares (ie around 7% of the vineyard) and 14 certified farms. The estate promotes biodiversity by preserving flora and fauna. this mention attests that we reduce the use of inputs and present a high degree of biodiversity in order to preserve the natural environment.


Natural fertilizers The faba bean: this green manure is an ancestral practice known to all which allows to naturally enrich the structure and fertility of the soil. Their destruction, before summer, contributes among other things to enriching the soil in nitrogen, ideal for the vines and their development.


 


The bio-fertil: it is by going through the vines that we set up this natural compost which improves the biological quality and the structure of the soils on which our vines grow.


A tourist and wine-growing destination "Provide customers with a quality welcome and a spirit of sharing to understand the world of wine"


This label, to which we have been a member since 2010, has been awarded to the entire Gaillac "country". It positions the destination as a place of complete wine tourism. As an official winegrower partner, this label underscores our commitments to make your visit a typically Gaillacois memory!


 


Our grape varieties

With a very rich wine-growing past and a strategic location, the Gaillac vineyard on which our vines are planted, has many indigenous and typical grape varieties. Their use in the composition of our wines does not represent an insignificant choice but, on the contrary, a desire to defend our terroirs, our typicity and our know-how to offer AOP Gaillac wines by sole AND by grape varieties.


Thus, for the whites, Mauzac participates in the development of our entire range: we associate it with Loin de l'Oeil (Len de l'el in Occitan) and Muscadelle which are also typical Gaillac grape varieties with aromas. very thin. For this which are reds, Duras, Braucol and Syrah constitute the production base of our range, providing finesse, structure, color and spicy flavors. A new kid, but one of the oldest in the appellation, has recently been added to them: Prunelard.


Let's see more in detail ...


Mauzac

Emblematic and traditional grape variety of the Gaillac vineyard, we use it in the composition of 90% of our white wines (dry / sweet and sparkling). Productive in nature, this grape variety with medium clusters and thick skin grows wonderfully on our estates.


Used to produce both dry and sweet whites, it is also the very origin of the ancestral method, one of the characteristics of our Gaillac appellation (to taste during a visit to the estate).


A vigorous grape variety, it offers marked aromas of apple and pear and makes it possible to produce fatty white wines with a slight acidity on the palate (as for our Château Palvié dry white - 100% Mauzac - also to be tasted at the estate on a simple visit)


Muscadelle

Fragile and irregular in nature, Muscadelle is a delicate grape that we only use in blending.


It goes perfectly for the production of dry or sweet white wines. its floral character and its aromas of exotic fruits bring a nice note of freshness in our wines as on the dry white pearly freshness (typicality of the Gaillac appellation that we recommend you to taste during your visit to the estate).


Out of sight

The Occitan originality of "len de l'el", or far from the eye, comes from its name which leaves all those who hear it for the first time questioning. This native grape variety from the Gaillac vineyard, it is so named because its cluster grows far from the bud (from the eye), the stem of this vine is particularly long, which pushes the cluster "far from the eye". It is a productive grape variety that gives nice generous clusters with juicy berries. It is used in association with Mauzac or Muscadelle in our AOP Gaillac wines (we particularly recommend it on our late harvests "the sweet secrets" of Château Palvié, to be tasted during your visit to the estate).


The far from the eye offers a wide range of aromas and contributes to the production of very fine wines with little acidity.


Braucol

Fer servadou, chalamonchet, pinenc, mansois or even BRAUCOL, depending on the region this grape variety has different names but it is only used in the South-West.


Very resistant, it offers dense clusters allowing to produce red wines of character, elegant wines with a dark color and with a good aging capacity in general.


Used in all of our reds at Domaine la Croix des Marchands and Château Palvié, this versatility shows all the value of this grape variety which gives beautiful peppery and fruity notes to our wines (wild berries, blackcurrant, raspberry).


Duras

Emblematic grape variety which is said to originate from the Gaillac vineyard, we use it today in the assembly of our "tradition" cuvée which is itself packaged in a Gaillac bottle.


This is the typical cuvée in red, a grape variety fond of the sun, it is productive but fragile.


It offers a juice of sustained color with fine tannins as well as peppery and spicy notes.


Prunelard

Probably one of the oldest grape varieties in the Gaillac vineyard, it has long been unused following its disappearance during the phylloxera crisis.


Reintegrated for a few years in the blends of our red wines, today we only use it in our "Tradition" cuvée from Château Palvié.


It is a not very productive grape variety which makes it possible to create balanced and structured wines with aromas of spices and ripe fruit.


Syrah

Very widespread throughout the world, Syrah has been found in the Gaillac vineyards for many years.


It contributes to the assembly of all our cuvées of red wines. It brings a sustained color, gourmet notes of fruit and spices as well as a beautiful structure in the mouth.


It is also part of the composition of our rosé, releasing a beautiful fruity finesse.


Gamay

The star of our Gaillac Primeur!


Used for its composition, it is a grape variety with clusters and juicy berries that offer gourmet wines.


and very fruity.


It is tasted every year from the third Thursday in November.


At the estate, it is used for Gaillac Primeur and, along with Syrah, is used in the composition of our rosé.


The work of the vines in the 4 seasons

Winter

Winter, or the origin of the grapes, is a very important period for the vine, contrary to what one might think!


This is the time for pruning and selecting the buds that will give rise to future clusters and the future harvest. This is a very important choice step for us.


It is also the beginning of the work cycle of the vine. Pruning usually begins in the month of dice. 


From December and will run until March.


Spring

When spring arrives, nature wakes up, the buds begin to bloom and it is time for us to work the soil.


 


The aeration of the soil, the suppression of weeds or the prevention of certain diseases.


It is also at this time of the year that we plant the new vines or that we proceed to the disbudding of the mature vines in order to select the branches and the buds which will bear the future fruits.


Summer

Summer, from flowering to green harvest, is a very fragile and climate-sensitive period.


the beginning of flowering reveals small flowers which will give birth to future clusters. It is a good indicator of the start of the harvest, which generally takes place 100 days later.


In August, the green harvest allows us to select the best bunches of grapes, especially on young vines. Thus, we regulate and optimize the quality of the future harvest.


Autumn

Autumn is here; its sweetness, its colors and its grape pickers!


Until the last bunch harvested, the climate is still essential for us during this period. When the end of the harvest rings, the work in the cellar can begin, it is then the end of the cycle of the vines which have worked well ...


A little rest for her before the preparation of the future size in a few weeks ...


 


One vineyard, two terroirs

Certified quality "HVE" & "Terra Vitis"

Cultivate the vines with passion and reason while respecting the Living Earth for the enjoyment and health of all.

Vignobles Jérôme Bézios

Vignobles Jérôme Bézios, AOP Gaillac

Jérôme Bézios a repris le domaine familial il y a maintenant 20 ans.

Depuis, il a grandement investi dans les nouvelles technologies (contrôles des températures, filtration,…), dans les pratiques traditionnelles (vendanges manuelles, travail du sol,…) et dans une équipe compétente afin de tendre vers une qualité optimale tant au niveau de la production que de la vinification. Il est aujourd'hui à la tête de deux domaines,, le domaine de la Croix des Marchands, où sont produits des vins divers, y compris des pétillants suivant la méthode ancestrale, et le Château Palvié, où sont produits exclusivement des vins tranquilles plus orientés vers la garde.  Les deux domaines sont dans l'appellation Gaïllac.

Revenons aux Bulles. Le domaine de la Croix des Marchands étend ses vignes sur 30 hectares d'un terroir graveleux. Elles produisent des vins typiques de l’appellation, fruités et épicés. Leur emplacement historique atteste de la présence d’activité viticole vieille de deux milles ans!

L’excellente réputation de ce domaine en fait une référence de l’appellation Gaillac Les Vignobles Bézios sont labélisés HVE (niveau 3) et Terra Vitis depuis plus de 10ans, ce qui répond aujourd'hui parfaitement aux attentes de qualité et de respect des terroirs et de l’environnement.

 

Histoire des domaines, des vignerons

Situé en plein coeur du vignoble de Gaillac, et plus particulièrement à Montans, grand centre de poteries de l’époque gallo-romaine, le domaine la Croix des Marchands tire ses racines de son emplacement. Ancien carrefour de potiers, il atteste de la présence d’une activité viticole vieille de deux mille ans. Prédestiné à la vigne, notre vignoble est familial et se transmet de père en fils depuis plusieurs générations. Vignerons indépendants attachés à notre terroir et à nos cépages du vignoble de Gaillac, nous produisons, vinifions, conditionnons et distribuons nos vins de Gaillac dans une vision purement qualitative.

C’est dans les années 30 que les premières vignes voient le jour chez nous à Montans, juste à côté de Gaillac.

À l’époque elles n’étaient pas seules, nous faisions de la polyculture, de l’élevage et des vins de Gaillac. Lorsque Jean-Marie Bezios reprend, admiratif des pionniers vignerons de notre vignoble gaillacois, il décide de se consacrer uniquement à la vigne. Cette étape marque les débuts du « domaine la Croix des Marchands » dans les années 70. S’en suivra des années de travail et de soins pour arriver à produire notre premier millésime en 1983 de rouge tradition.

Des années plus tard, en 1998, Jérôme rejoint l’équipe après avoir terminé ses études dans le vin. En 1999 le domaine s’agrandit. De sont les débuts du Château Palvié qui vient compléter notre gamme de vins de Gaillac.

Ces vignes de Cahuzac sur Vère offrent alors une possibilité d’élargir les cuvées et Jérôme saisi cette opportunité. Dès 1999 la première cuvée voit le jour. Aujourd’hui les deux domaines sont regroupés sous un même nom : « Les vignobles Jérôme Bezios », et nous avons la chance de pouvoir travailler deux terroirs de l’appellation Gaillac pour vous proposer une découverte plus riche et plus complète des vins de l’AOP Gaillac.

Avec un espace d’accueil tout près de Gaillac pour l’achat et la dégustation de nos vins nous pouvons vous faire visiter la cave et notre domaine sur rdv (minimum 10 personnes) tout au long de l’année.

Un vignoble, deux terroirs

Peu de personnes en ont conscience, et pourtant, le vignoble de Gaillac est l’un des plus anciens vignobles de France. De renommée certes plus modeste que ne le sont des vignobles tels que le Bordelais ou la Bourgogne, nos domaines et nos vignes de Gaillac ont pourtant une identité marquée par des siècles de culture viticole.

D’une superficie totale de 6800 hectares, le vignoble de Gaillac compte de nombreux domaines viticoles et vignerons indépendants, dont 3150 hectares en Appellation d’Origine Protégée (AOP) Gaillac. L’ensemble de nos vignes est travaillé en AOP Gaillac et nous produisons tous nos vins selon ce cahier des charges depuis nos débuts.

Le vignoble de Gaillac se divise et se répartit selon trois principaux terroirs. Nous avons aujourd’hui la chance de procéder des vignes issues de 2 de ces principaux terroirs.

Tout d’abord, le Domaine la Croix des Marchands qui se compose d’une trentaine d’hectares évoluant sur un terroir de graves. Ce premier sol, appelé terrasses de la rive gauche du Tarn, est essentiellement graveleux.

Ces vignes, situées à Montans, tout autour de notre espace d’accueil et de dégustation, ont marqué les débuts du domaine et nous permettent de produire des vins fruités et épicés. Conduites en guyot, elles sont travaillées chaque jour par l’ensemble de notre équipe et nous offrent des fruits pour produire une gamme de vins blancs, rouges, rosé, doux et méthodes ancestrales. L’âge moyen de ces vignes est de 30 ans et les vendanges y sont mécaniques et manuelles.

De l’autre côté du Tarn se présente la rive droite et ses coteaux. On y retrouve le terroir argilo-calcaire du Château Palvié et ses vignes plus âgées, nous permettant d’offrir des vins plus riches et plus puissants. Grâce à la vingtaine d’hectare de vigne « en gobelet » que nous possédons nous pouvons proposer une gamme de vin plus concentrés plus propices à la garde. À Cahuzac sur Vère vous trouverez seulement les vignes. Au moment des vendanges nous récoltons l’ensemble des grappes du Château Palvié et les acheminons soigneusement jusqu’au chai de fermentation, vinification et élevage qui se situe au domaine la Croix des Marchands à Montans. Une fois arrivée dans le chai, la vendange est travaillée de manière bien distincte, d’un côté celle issue des vignes du Château Palvié et de l’autre celle issue des vignes du domaine la Croix des Marchands.

Depuis plus de 25 ans, nous travaillons pour proposer des vins 100% AOP Gaillac, essentiellement issus des vieux cépages de l’appellation. Nous mettons également tout en oeuvre pour produire des vins provenant d’un vignoble « vivant et naturel ». Cette volonté se traduit par notre labellisation Terra Vitis et, depuis peu, notre certification Haute Valeur Environnementale niveau 3.

Un engagement durable pour vous offrir de la qualité. Une ligne de conduite chère à nos yeux depuis toujours qui se matérialise aujourd'hui par nos labellisations et certifications "Terra Vitis" et "haute Valeur Environnementale (HVE niveau 3)". Depuis 2010, nous nous engageons pleinement ou ouvertement dans le développement durable.

Terra Vitis

« Cultiver la vigne avec passion et raison dans le respect de la Terre Vivante pour le plaisir et la santé de tous ». Depuis 2010, nous nous engageons dans le développement durable. L’attribution du label « Terra Vitis » atteste que nous oeuvrons pour une viticulture durable, pour revenir à un vignoble « plus nature » et « vivant », en accord avec la biodiversité et offrant la garantie de produits sains, authentiques, et de qualité reflétant les typicités des terroirs de Gaillac que nous travaillons.

Une qualité certifiée "Haute Valeur Environnementale"

La démarche certifiée Haute Valeur Environnementale quant à elle est une mention gérée par le Ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation. la HVE s'appuie sur des indicateurs de performances environnementale qui portent sur l'intégralité de l'exploitation et de sa gestion. L'obtention de la certification HVE correspond au respect d'indicateurs de résultats sur quatre domaines :

  • Biodiversité ;
  • Fertilisation ;
  • Stratégie phytosanitaire ;
  • Gestion de l'eau.

L'intérêt de cette mention est de promouvoir un type d'agriculture particulièrement respectueux de l'environnement et de permette aux producteurs de mieux valoriser leur produit. A la différence de la certification Agriculture Biologique, qui est une démarche "produit", la HVE est une démarche "système".

Depuis 2018, le domaine est officiellement certifié "Haute Valeur Environnementale" niveau 3. Sur les 6800 hectares totaux du vignoble de Gaillac, il existe actuellement 450 hectares (soit 7% du vignoble environ) et 14 exploitations certifiées. Le domaine favorise la biodiversité en préservant la faune et la flore. cette mention atteste que nous réduisons le recours aux intrants et présentons un haut degré de biodiversité dans le but de préserver le milieu naturel.

Des engrais naturels La fèverole : cet engrais vert est une pratique ancestrale et connue de tous qui permet d'enrichir de manière naturelle la structure et la fertilité du sol. Leur destruction, avant l'été, contribue entre autre à enrichir le sol en azote, idéal pour les vignes et leur développement.

 

Le bio-fertil : c'est en parcourant les vignes que nous mettons en place ce compost naturel qui améliore la qualité biologique et la structure des sols sur lesquels évoluent nos vignes.

Une destination à vocation touristique et viticole "Assurer au client une qualité d'accueil et un esprit de partage pour comprendre l'univers du vin"

Ce label, auquel nous adhérons depuis 2010, a été attribué à l'ensemble du "pays" gaillacois. Il positionne la destination comme un lieu de séjour oenotouristique complet. En tant que partenaire vigneron officiel, ce label vient souligner nos engagements pour faire de votre visite un souvenir typiquement gaillacois !

 

Nos cépages

Fort d'un passé viticole très riche et d'un emplacement stratégique, le vignoble de Gaillac sur lequel sont implantées nos vignes, possède de nombreux cépages autochtones et typiques. Leur utilisation dans la composition de nos vins ne représente pas un choix anodin mais, bien au contraire, une volonté de défendre nos terroirs, notre typicité et notre savoir-faire pour proposer des vins AOP Gaillac par le sole ET par les cépages.

Ainsi, pour les blancs, le Mauzac participe à l'élaboration de toute notre gamme : nous l'associons avec le Loin de l'oeil (Len de l'el en occitan) et la Muscadelle qui sont également des cépages typiquement gaillacois aux arômes très fins. Pour ce qui est des rouges, le Duras, le Braucol et le Syrah constituent la base de production de notre gamme, apportant finesse, charpente, couleur et saveurs épicées. Un petit nouveau, mais pourtant un des plus anciens de l'appellation, vient les compléter depuis peu : le Prunelard.

Voyons les plus en détails ...

Mauzac

Cépage emblématique et traditionnel du vignoble de Gaillac, nous l’utilisons dans la composition de 90% de nos vins blancs (secs/moelleux et effervescents). De nature productive, ce cépage aux grappes moyennes et à la peau épaisse se développe à merveille sur nos domaines.

Utilisé aussi bien pour produire des blancs secs que des blancs doux il est également à l’origine même de la méthode ancestrale, une des typicités de notre appellation Gaillac (à déguster lors d’une visite au domaine).

Cépage vigoureux, il offre des arômes marqués sur la pomme et la poire et permet de produire des vins blancs gras avec une légère acidité en bouche (comme pour notre Château Palvié blanc sec – 100% Mauzac - à déguster également au domaine sur simple visite)

Muscadelle

De nature fragile et irrégulière, la muscadelle est un cépage délicat que nous utilisons en assemblage uniquement.

Il se marie parfaitement pour la production de vins blancs secs ou doux. son caractère floral et ses arômes de fruits exotiques apportent une belle note de fraicheur dans nos vins comme sur le blanc sec fraîcheur perlée (typicité de l'appellation Gaillac que nous vous conseillons de déguster lors de votre visite au domaine).

Loin de l'oeil

L'originalité occitane du "len de l'el", ou loin de l'oeil, vient de son nom qui laisse interrogateur tous ceux qui l'entendent pour la première fois. Ce cépage autochtone du vignoble de Gaillac, il est ainsi nommé car sa grappe pousse loin du bourgeon (de l'oeil), la tige de cette vigne est particulièrement longue, ce qui pousse la grappe "loin de l'oeil". C'est un cépage productif qui donne de belles grappes généreuses aux baies juteuses. On l'utilise en association au Mauzac ou à la Muscadelle dans nos vins AOP Gaillac (nous vous le recommandons particulièrement sur nos vendanges tardives "les secrets doux" du Château Palvié, à déguster lors de votre visite au domaine).

Le loin de l'oeil offre un large éventail d'arôme et contribue à la production de vins très fins avec peu d'acidité.

Braucol

Fer servadou, chalamonchet, pinenc, mansois ou encore BRAUCOL, selon la région ce cépage porte des noms différents mais il n'est utilisé que dans le Sud-Ouest.

Très résistant, il offre des grappes denses permettant de produire des vins rouges de caractères, des vins élégants à la robe sombre et avec une bonne capacité de garde en règle générale.

Utilisé dans la totalité de nos rouges au domaine la Croix des Marchands et Château Palvié, cette polyvalence montre toute la valeur de ce cépage qui donne de belles notes poivronnées et fruitées à nos vins (baies sauvages, cassis, framboise).

Duras

Cépage emblématique qui serait originaire du vignoble de Gaillac, nous l'utilisons aujourd'hui dans l'assemblage de notre cuvée "tradition" qui est elle-même conditionnée dans une bouteille gaillacoise.

C'est la cuvée typique en rouge, cépage friand de soleil, il est productif mais fragile.

Il offre un jus de couleur soutenue avec des tannins fins ainsi que des notes poivrées et épicées.

Prunelard

Probablement l'un des plus anciens cépages du vignoble de Gaillac, il a longtemps été inutilisé suite à sa disparition pendant la crise du phylloxera.

Réintégré depuis quelques années dans les assemblages de nos vins rouges, nous l'utilisons aujourd'hui uniquement dans notre cuvée "Tradition" du Château Palvié.

C'est un cépage peu productif qui permet de créer des vins équilibrés et charpentés aux arômes d'épices et de fruits mûrs.

Syrah

Très répandue à travers le monde, la Syrah se retrouve dans le vignoble de Gaillac depuis de nombreuses années.

Elle contribue à l'assemblage de toutes nos cuvées de vins rouges. Elle y apporte une couleur soutenue, des notes gourmandes de fruits et d'épices ainsi qu'une belle structure en bouche.

Elle rentre aussi dans la composition de notre rosé en dégageant une belle finesse fruitée.

Gamay

La star de notre Gaillac Primeur !

Utilisé pour sa composition c'est un cépage aux grappes et aux baies juteuses qui offrent des vins gourmands

et très fruités.

Il se déguste chaque année à partir du troisième jeudi de novembre.

Au domaine, il est utilisé pour le Gaillac Primeur et rentre, avec la Syrah, dans la composition de notre rosé.

Le travail de la vigne aux 4 saisons

L'hiver

L'hiver, ou l'origine des raisins, est une période très importante pour la vigne contrairement à ce que l'on pourrait penser !

C'est le moment de la taille et de la sélection des bourgeons qui donneront naissance aux futures grappes et à la future récolte. C'est une étape de choix très importante pour nous.

C'est aussi le début du cycle de travail de la vigne. La taille débute généralement au mois de décembre et se poursuivra jusqu'au mois de mars.

Le printemps

A l'arrivée du printemps, la nature se réveille, les bourgeons commencent à éclore et c'est pour nous le moment de travailler le sol.

 

L'aération de la terre, la suppression des mauvaises herbes ou encore la prévention de certaines maladies.

C'est aussi à cette période de l'année que nous plantons les nouvelles vignes ou que nous procédons à l'ébourgeonnage des pieds matures en vue de sélectionner le rameaux et les bourgeons qui porteront les futurs fruits.

L'été

L'été, de la floraison à la vendanges verte, c'est une période très fragile et sensible au climat.

le début de la floraison laisse apparaître de petites fleurs qui donneront naissance aux futures grappes. C'est un bon indicateur du début des vendanges qui se déroulent généralement 100 jours après.

En août, la vendange verte nous permet de sélectionner les meilleures grappes de raisins, surtout sur les jeunes vignes. Ainsi, nous régulons et optimisons la qualité de la future vendange.

L'automne

L'automne est là; sa douceur, ses couleurs et ses vendangeurs !

Jusqu'à la dernière grappe vendangée, le climat reste toujours primordial pour nous à cette période. Quand la fin des vendanges sonne, le travail dans la cave peut commencer, c'est alors la fin du cycle de la vigne qui a bien travaillé...

Un peu de repos pour elle avant la préparation de la future taille dans quelques semaines ...

 

Un vignoble, deux terroirs

Une qualité certifiée "HVE" & "Terra Vitis"

Cultiver la vigne avec passion et raison dans le respect de la Terre >Vivante pour le plaisir et la santé de tous.